Rafael Nadal: The Unstoppable King of Clay

Rafael nadal unstoppable king of clay

The Unstoppable King of Clay has proven it this time too.

Rafael Nadal, currently ranked world no. 1 professional tennis player in Men’s singles, has recently proven himself why the world calls him ‘The King of Clay’. Clinching the French Open title for the 11th time, the Spaniard has shown the world that it is almost impossible to beat him on the clay.

Nadal crushed 24-year-old Austrian Dominic Thiem in straight sets in the men’s final at Philippe-Chatrier this year to prove himself still an impossible player to defeat on clay. Thiem was helpless in the merciless movements and strokes of the Spaniard to be in misery of 6-4, 6-3, 6-2 in the straight sets. Thiem’s dream of becoming the first Austrian to win a Grand Slam title after Thomas Muster 23 years ago was destroyed by the unstoppable king of clay.

Since 2005, Nadal has been ruling on the clay courts giving his opponent a rare chance to take the French Open title. Now, even at the age of 32, he has been crushing much younger and good players. With the French Open title this year, Nadal has become the only player to win the most titles of a single tournament. Since 2005, he has won 11 Roland-Garros titles so far.

Rafael Nadal has won the French Open Titles in the following years

2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, and 2018

He has also won the Australian Open title in 2009, US Open titles in 2010, 2013, and 2017 and Wimbledon titles in 2008 and 2010.

The way he plays on clay courts is a magic. Big players have fallen victims in his hand even in his initial days in the professional tennis career.

Watch the Final Highlights of Roland-Garros 2018


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here